All the Things… New York Jazz and More

Blog of a jazz enthusiast

Allen Toussaint @ the Village Vanguard and Sorin’s movie

with 2 comments

Image155Saw the late set of Allen Toussaint’s The Bright Mississippi band at the  Village Vanguard on Tuesday. I really liked Christian Scott’s sound and and dynamics + some nice burning lines :D, but actually I wasn’t so much into the whole thing this time – maybe I’m not American enough? It was good though, heard Marc Ribot for the first time, I will definitely check him out in the future. The arrangements were really nice, I liked the sound of trumpet and clarinet blending together. I could imagine myself chilling out on a hot Southern afternoon just having the blues :) at that concert. The way Allen Toussaint sang the last couple of tunes (some lyrics were by Paul Simon) would definitely sell records in America, I can imagine.

Image153Then I saw a movie by Sorin called “The Window” at the Film Forum at West Village. It was thought-provoking especially because the whole theme was kind of a mix of things that don’t go together – an old guy, sick in bed in an empty yellow room with sun shining outside the window with a view over blooming fields, an old bottle of champagne that has been waiting for years to be finally opened when the world-famous pianist son would at last come to visit his father, and a piano tuner downstairs tuning the piano for hours and hours, casually making a move on the maids and housekeepers while working on the piano. I think life is often a mix of things that don’t really go together, that may be really funny sometimes, in that movie the inappropriateness turned out as poetry. I didn’t really like the movie as much as it sounds now, but it was quite inspiring still.

Image143Then I also checked out the famous Jazz Record Store on 26th St and 8th Av – in an apartment building with no big signs to catch the eye from the outside -  you just have to know where you’re heading. I didn’t really have time to see the selection that they have there, I guess one could spend days checking out the stuff.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. yer toussaint comments made no sense to me. american? what song did you think was paul simon’s? the set were identical each night… there was a steve goodman song. it was the live performance of the year as far as I’m concerned. thanks

    r

    December 20, 2009 at 10:50 pm

    • Well, for me it definitely wasn’t the best live performance of the year. it was just good. I guess it depends on the taste, u know. Some lyrics really were by Paul Simon, Toussaint said so :D And by not being American enough I mean that I might be missing a certain background to appreciate Toussaint the way Americans do.

      ines

      December 21, 2009 at 2:55 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

