All the Things… New York Jazz and More

Blog of a jazz enthusiast

Bill Frisell @ Village Vanguard and a little tour in the city

leave a comment »

What’s up with the weather here? So cold! Should be almost summer now…

Image094Met a guy, call him P,  at the Atlas internet cafe (Williamsburg) last night and he decided to come with me to the Vanguard to hear Bill Frisell. We had some time to kill before that and took a little tour in the city by car, checking out views over Manhattan from Brooklyn, driving over Williamsburg Bridge and through neigborhoods like East Village, Soho, Little Italy, Chinatown. I’ve been walking so much lately that it felt real good to explore by car for a change. But as always ended up in the West Village, walking on Bleecker St, and 7th Av… Went to hear Bill Frisell play the late set at Village Vanguard – as a Wednesday thing there was some discount for students. I’ve always wanted to hear Bill Frisell live and now I got it🙂 just letting it ring the Bill Frisell way. Real nice! And there was some classy soloing by Tony Scherr, the legendary bass player who has played with J Scofield, Maria Schneider, W Muthspiel, New York Voices etc🙂 Got great life advice from him after the concert: “Play what you like” and “Take care of yourself”. Sounds easy. If you play what you don’t like, you’ll end up doing other things you don’t like and that’ll only lead you in the wrong place anyway… Real logical. Try to remember that.

That was my alternative plan for the night, I wonder what I missed this time

That was my alternative plan for the night, I wonder what I missed this time

The guy I was with was kind of interesting at the start and indeed very intelligent, talking smart about anything really. But what is the thing about men when they so often don’t see the difference if someone likes them as a 1) person 2) friend 3) man. It’s not at all the same thing! (Even though I’ve noticed that it might get more confusing when there’s some really good jazz playing involved). After having a couple of beers and wine with him I was quite happy to call it a night. I should try to get home earlier in the future still, staying out until 4 AM is getting tiring! Meeting people in NY is fun though.

Written by Ines

May 14, 2009 at 7:13 pm

Leave a Reply

