All the Things… New York Jazz and More

Blog of a jazz enthusiast

Kenny Garrett @ Iridium

with 4 comments

Found a free shelf from Craigslist today. Doesn’t look like much but I can really use it since I still don’t have practically anything in my room. It was just a couple of streets away from my place, so I took it home on foot. On my way I ran into a nice Yoga center, tried a class – and guess I’m going to get back to doing yoga now. I’ve actually been really feeling like it lately. The style is Vinyasa (Flow) Yoga. I was a bit suspicious about “American yoga” at first but the class was actually quite advanced, physically. It was actually a lot more about the workout than a spiritual experience. Felt real good.

Image105Another dream of mine was to hear Kenny Garrett play live.  And now it  happened, at Iridium Jazz Club, New York (student night, half of the price off).  I heard the original happy sound🙂. The whole concert felt like a really high-energy celebration. I guess where I was sitting – the front seat- wasn’t actually the best place, soundwise. They really play the drums so much louder in America :)  KG played Fender Rhodes quite a lot throughout the concert, playfully in a wayne-shorter-kind-of-way. And what an amazing grooving organ player! They actually played Happy People and Song for Difang, which brought back some nice memories from our first year in school with Katrin🙂 But I really have to hear him with an acoustic band as well, to complete the experience.

Written by Ines

May 15, 2009 at 4:23 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. do you know names of players without KG? i really wanna know

    jn

    May 27, 2009 at 7:16 am

    • Well, I was really looking at the programs myself, trying to find the names, but didn’t – it was just Kenny Garrett Band everywhere… I’ll post the names when I it find out somehow. The drummer was Justin, if I remember it correct, talked to him a little bit after the concert. And I really liked the organ player, wonder who he was.

      Ines

      May 27, 2009 at 2:58 pm

  2. I found out! you were right.
    Justin Brown – Drums, Kona Khasu – Bass, Johnny Mercier – Organ
    it was amazing.

    jn

    May 27, 2009 at 7:36 pm

    • thanks !!😀 I was really curious about it actually

      Ines

      May 28, 2009 at 5:42 pm


Leave a Reply

