All the Things… New York Jazz and More

Blog of a jazz enthusiast

A Midsummer Night's Dream @ New York City Ballet and Mark Guiliana's Thing @ Rose

leave a comment »

New York City Ballet

New York City Ballet

Being so well connected ;)  I got a ticket for New York City Ballet last night – to see A Midsummer Night’s Dream – music by F. Mendelssohn choreography by George Balanchine (also one of the founders of NYCB). I haven’t been that much of a ballet-enthusiast so far, but really enjoyed it – who wouldn’t, the level of it all was just amazing, as one would expect from New York. What I found really weird about it though was the (american?) audience applauding between scenes and giving a really rushed short applause in the end. After the curtains fall would be the time to  show one’s appreciation, I would think, as this show certainly deserved. But yeah, anyway, in New York, even ballet is good😀😀 Wouldn’t mind going again at all.

And as an every-other-Wednesday thing went to Rose to hear Mark Guiliana’s Thing. Somehow, don’t know if it was me, it didn’t get me so much into it this time. The line-up was different, so maybe I just couldn’t share the vibe.  Yeah, it’s a relief not to be that obsessed anymore, I was a bit worried about becoming a stalker already.

I noticed that they have an interesting drinks deal at Rose – you get a beer and a shot of whiskey for $6. I tried the whiskey (wasn’t that good, unfortunately, but what a great idea). I had such an interesting conversation with a young alto player from LA – in many ways he must be one of the most American people I’ve met here, as much I do have a stereotype for Americans in my mind. Otherwise the people I’ve been meeting in New York have mostly been quite different from this. I don’t mind either way –  it’s so interesting just to observe. That must be one of my favorite things about being here.

Written by Ines

June 18, 2009 at 11:19 am

Leave a Reply

