All the Things… New York Jazz and More

Blog of a jazz enthusiast

Friday @ New Languages Festival

leave a comment »

Besides trumpet, Amir ElSaffar's singing was amazing too

Amir ElSaffar's singing - was amazing

Friday @ the festival was really killin – maybe the highlight of the whole thing? First a duo of trumpet and saxophone – Amir ElSaffar and Hafez Modirzadeh. Never heard that kind of music on these instruments. Great counterpoint moments and poetic interplay.

Then I heard a couple of tunes from the second band Positive Catastrophe. Was quite cheerful – I wasn’t feeling cheerful that day myself though.  And then, my first time ever, Tim Berne. I can see why so many people love his composing. They played 4 pieces, I especially liked the second one, the one without a name. Made me buy a CD😉 I planned to go to the Blue Note Late Night Session that day, but never made it, felt too tired  and quite satisfied with Tim Berne’s music anyway😉

Tim Berne's Los Totopos

Tim Berne's Los Totopos

Written by Ines

September 27, 2009 at 2:30 pm

Leave a Reply

