All the Things… New York Jazz and More

Blog of a jazz enthusiast

Adam Rogers Trio @ 55 Bar

leave a comment »

Adam Rogers trio @ 55 Bar

Adam Rogers (guitar), Fima Ephron (bass), Nate Smith (drums). I heard the first set, even though I missed some of the beginning songs. 55 Bar was pretty packed, people seemed to be digging on it. I mainly went to hear Nate Smith😀, I think he’s such a great grooving drummer. But generally, the band as a whole somehow didn’t sound so balanced to me. The compositions fell a little bit into a similar category. Dice was my favorite of the lot. Adam Rogers has just exceptional technique, I’m sure there’d be no trouble packing the venues with aspiring guitar players even only for that reason. But I thought this wasn’t the perfect situation to enjoy Nate Smith’s drumming. Which was unmistakably spectacular, though.

Written by Ines

July 18, 2010 at 7:54 am

Leave a Reply

