All the Things… New York Jazz and More

Blog of a jazz enthusiast

Disappointing night @ Nublu

with one comment

Nublu, 1 AM, still setting up

Went there to hear Ben Allison @ 11 PM. The  guy at the door said they would play @ 12:30 instead. So we thought we could wait that long, since we had already made the trip there so we had a drink listening to the DJ. Which was actually pretty cool at first, but as time went by it got more and more tiring when it stayed within the same tempo and a similar beat for 45 minutes. How much are people supposed the able to take in loud noise (I was glad to have my ear plugs) before listening to live music, anyway? When the band still hadn’t started playing at 1 AM we wanted to leave and get our money back. The door man (who actually had a really negative vibe from the start), when we asked for the money back, said, “What makes you so special that you can’t wait?” And, “I told you, they start between 12:30 and 1 AM. Maybe you didn’t hear, maybe you didn’t listen maybe you had your own thing in your head“. I’m very sure what I heard when I went in there. Whatever their policy is with not refunding the cover that’s one thing but there is no need to get abusive like that, it made me feel REALLY bad. I know very well that bands start late sometimes, things happen, but the attitude was just rude. The manager didn’t want to confront me about this either and from the couple of sentences she did say she didn’t seem to communicate that much better, just that “Everybody else is waiting, you can go if you want“. I was really disappointed with the place.

Actually this wasn’t the first time things don’t go as announced at Nublu, several other times there have been unpleasant changes in the bands playing, so I almost expect that nothing is for sure with them. So far I  still thought of Nublu in a rather positive way but after this I definitely don’t feel like going back there… I guess the place would be recommended for people who just want to get wasted but no more.

Written by Ines

August 22, 2010 at 8:37 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Hall @ Lower East Side  is an interesting place, they have all kinds of things. I don’t like Nublu anymore, […]


Leave a Reply

