All the Things… New York Jazz and More

Blog of a jazz enthusiast

Steve Swallow Quintet @ New Morning, Paris

with 2 comments

Steve Swallow Quintet @ New Morning, Paris

As I happened to be in Paris, I thought I should check out one of the best known jazz clubs, New Morning. So I went to hear Steve Swallow with Chris Cheek, Steve Cardenas, Jorge Rossy  and Carla Bley. Oh god, I thought actually that it was quite awful. Listened only to a few tunes and left… (felt quite sorry for paying 25€ for it… :)). I just really didn’t like the timefeel of Carla Bley. I wonder if the compositions would have sounded more interesting with a different keyboard player. Not sure. Chris Cheek played well though…

The  venue itself is quite cosy – with dim lighting, lots of enthusiastic, respectuful people actually listening to the music (this time is was almost packed).

Anyway, was nice to see New Morning, but I’ll have to stick around to catch a better show now.

Written by Ines

November 17, 2011 at 7:01 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. glad to see you back!

    insky

    November 29, 2011 at 2:01 am


Leave a Reply

